Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Aug 21, 2023 in Music, News, Powerpop, pub rock |

Hardwicke Circus – Fly The Flag

Hardwicke Circus – Fly The Flag

Hardwicke CircusFly The Flag, the band’s third album, is one of the more intriguing releases of 2023. The sound is right out of early 80’s Stiff Records – and so is the cast of characters.

Dave Robinson, one of Stiff’s co-founders, produced Fly The Flag. Seamus Beaghan (Iggy Pop, Madness) makes a guest appearance. The cover artwork was created by Humphrey Ocean. You may recognize that name from his association with Ian Dury

These influences and more can be heard within the dozen tracks on Fly The Flag. From the first note, each song is undeniably British – much in the same way Ian Dury, Squeeze or early Elvis Costello were.

The album starts off on a positive note with “Every Day I Find The Luck”. The Philly soul infused “Bang My Head (To The Rhythm of Life)” is an instant hit with Jack Pearce’s sax accenting the piece perfectly.

“Our Town” is a sketch of Carlisle (the town the band hails from) and a real gem. But the piece de resistance is “Night Train To London”. Reminiscent of Madness, the infectious rhythm and wailing sax pull you in and don’t let go.

Hardwicke Circus are lead vocalist Jonny Foster, his drummer brother Tom Foster, bassist Joe Hurst, keyboardist Lewis Bewley-Taylor and saxophonist Jack Pearce. They’ll be touring the US next year and have a reputation as a phenomenal live unit. It’s also worth mentioning that Nick Lowe has been spotted in the studio with the band recently so stay tuned for more.

Get Hardwicke Circus’ Fly The Flag

All twelve songs on Fly the Flag are worthy of your attention – not a clunker in the lot. Best of all, it’s different from anything else out this year. Get Hardwicke Circus’ Fly The Flag anywhere and everywhere that fine music is sold including Amazon, Apple Music and Bandcamp.