Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Feb 17, 2021 in Music, News, Powerpop |

The Boys With The Perpetual Nervousness – Songs From Another Life

The Boys With The Perpetual Nervousness – Songs From Another Life

The Boys with the Perpetual Nervousness are Madrid’s Gonzalo Marcos (El Palacio de Linares) and Edinburgh’s Andrew Taylor (Dropkick) and their second album, Songs from Another Life, picks up where their last one left off. You’ll hear REM, The Byrds and Teenage Fanclub in a lot of what they do. Most importantly, the hooks stand out and the melodies are memorable.

“I Don’t Mind” is a great choice for the opening track. It moves at a brisk pace, has a catchy chorus and – at under 2 minutes – kick starts the proceedings nicely. “Rose Tinted Glasses” is another favorite and has a bit of an alt-country feel to it. If maximum guitar jangle is your thing, you’ll dig “How I Really Feel” (and the rest of the album, really). The hooks are bigger than a $500 fishing lure.

Each and every song on Songs of Another Life somehow sounds familiar and yet they’re not. Before long, I found myself humming one after the other and time past in an instant. The only down side to the album is that it’s way too good to end in under 30 minutes. The old showbiz adage – leave them wanting more – is most definitely true here. I can’t wait to more more from these guys. In the meantime, I’ll be spinning this album a lot.

The Boys with the Perpetual Nervousness’ Songs from Another Life is available on CD from Kool Kat Musik or digitally from Bandcamp. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.